What the frack is fracking?  The concept of fracking has been making big headlines recently so I think it is important to dedicate some time to understanding just what it really means and what its implications are.  Fracking, more officially termed “hydraulic fracturing” is a process by which rocks from the Earth are broken apart by high pressured water.  I would define it as “new aged mining” that eliminates much of the human element.  Below the surface of the Earth lay large quantities of a rock called Shale, which once broken apart releases natural gas.  Natural gas, which may be heating your home as you read this, is useful for generating energy and heat for our cosy lifestyles.  To get the natural gas out of the rock, water (up to 8 million gallons), laden with sand and chemicals (up to 300 tons!), is catapulted at the underground shale.  This usually takes place around 8,000 ft below the surface.  If you’re thinking that this could be problematic, you’re correct..

Fracking has been considered by some to be a break through in American energy production.  If the U.S. were to  become more energy self-reliant, then perhaps we could avoid messy and turbulent relations with the Middle East.  While the U.S. does  have an ample supply of Shale rock under its surface, mass scale fracking may not be the answer to our energy woes.  There are serious repercussions to consider with fracking.  The chemicals used in fracking have been reported to pollute the wells of citizens living in close proximity.  As you can imagine, people were pretty upset when their families and children could actually light their drinking water on fire because it was so polluted.  Many argue that while Shale fracking may be useful for U.S. energy production, it is just too dangerous for the public.

I would have to agree.  Fracking is not the answer, only a temporary solution.  I will 99.9% of the time argue that renewables are the answer and now is no exception.  Renewable energy provides much more energy independence than fracking and also provides for future security and well-being.  Fracking is a band-aid on the energy crisis that Americans and the world will face when oil, natural gas, and coal become more and more scarce.  The only permanent solution is to switch to solar, wind, geothermal, and other sustainable, renewable methods of energy production.  I hope you enjoyed my blog and that you learned a little bit more about fracking 🙂

About kphelan329

My name is Kathleen, or Kat for short, and I am finishing up my senior year of college, hoping to soon embark on a career path. I will be graduating with a degree in Environmental Policy and Science, with a policy specialization and a minor in Political Science. I am a tree hugger and the only democrat in my family. The environment is my passion in life and I hope to be able to make an impact, however small it may be, on degrading conditions of our planet. Beside that, I love to dance, play the piano, read and hang out with my friends :)

Leave a comment